Favourite Races…


I’m a member of a few running groups on Linkedin. Running In Business posed a question this week.

What is your favorite running race and why. The responses have been really interesting to read and here’s a snippet of them:

• Favorite race all time is Grandma’s Marathon in Duluth, Minnesota. Great course, great crowd support the entire way and the whole town rallies around the event.

What keeps me motivated is that running allows me to push myself to see what I am capable of, which I find helps me to translate that to other areas of my life.

• 10k in Philippsburg Germany, called Festungslauf – only around 300 competitors and they are ALL fast runners. My uncle wins it every year and I feel honoured to take part in the same race as he does and wins…. especially as I am from the UK and travel all this way, just to do that.

• My fave run is the Oak Barrel Half Marathon (www.oakbarrelhalf.com) in Lynchburg, TN., aka. Jack Daniel’s country. The down-home feel, beautiful scenery throughout the countryside, wooden finishers medal, cool shirts and small size make it awesome.

• Well, I think the Comrades in South Africa has been the most amazing race of my career of 53 marathons around the world with my husband. We ran the ‘up’ in 2008 and returned to run the ‘down’ in 2009. They say it is a life-changing experience and it was. Incredible people on the course and beside it. Children dive for your discarded clothes, half finished drinks and any handouts of food you can pass them. We were treated as heroes as we arrived at the finish. Would love to go back again, but the training for the event is a challenge in itself!

• Also honourable mentions to all of the Rock N Roll Marathons and the Country Music Marathon in Nashville!

Peterborough YMCA Half Marathon last Sunday…

Heard via the running grapevine that it was a great event. 501 runners finished the half marathon. The winner was BJ Cuncliffe from Courtice, ON who falls in the male 15-19 age group. He broke the tape in 1:15 for a 3:34 km pace! The first woman to cross the finish line was Jutta Merilainen from Batawa who was in the 35-39 year category. Her time was 1:22.21 (one hour, 22 minutes, 21 seconds)
Congrats to all who took part!

Great races this weekend on the running calendar…The Chili Half Marathon and Frosty 5K takes place on Sunday, March 6 in Burlington. Lots of great post race refreshments afterwards.

There is a Guelph Y fun run also on Sunday if the shorter distance is more to your liking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment